Alfa Romeo 4C Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
I need help choosing trackday tyres.
I have zero experience, this is my first trackday and I don't know if I should use a new set of Pirelli P0's or if there is something better.
Any help is more than welcome

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
16,535 Posts
How old and in what condition are your current P-Zero's?
They are a fine tire to start your tracking experience with - quite vocal and forgiving.
They are not the fastest tire in the rack, but they have lots to teach you.

·
Super Moderator
9,037 Posts
Hi guys
I have zero experience, this is my first trackday and I don't know if I should use a new set of Pirelli P0's or if there is something better.

Thanks
I have a set of Hankook R-S4s. They were relatively cheap, good grip and good wear characteristics. They are a bit crude for everyday use. Quite noisy as they wear. I had to fronts shaved a few mm to be more in line with the standard stance of the car. 215/45x17 (no 205/45 available) give the car a slight nose-up attitude which isn’t great for handling at 200km/h. They’re near the legal minimum tread depth I will not be using them in the wet. She’ll (my 4C) likely behave like a skim-board with them .

·
Super Moderator
16,535 Posts
Hi guys

Thanks
Are these to be your ONLY set of tires for the car? Assuming yes, then how much track vs daily driving are you planning on doing with the car?
Track day tires are not typically great for street driving. If you track the car more (you will probably want to, after your first taste), then it would be a good idea to buy a second set of wheels with dedicated track day tires. By that time, you will also likely be upgrading your brake pads, as the stock ones will show their weaknesses before the Pirellis do on track.